About Artist/Creator/Curator

In September of last year, I started a job as the associate  director of the Connecticut Academy of Fine Arts (CAFA).  This prestigious art organization, founded in 1910, through its member council elected me to help lead them.  Oh, how honored did I feel!

One of the first things we did was revamping the website.  The old one, as functional as it was, needed a little TLC.  My husband, known as the man of many trades, worked on this website with a little help from the CAFA advisors and myself.  We wanted it modern and to the point, and I think we achieved that.  Check out the website here: www.ctacademy.org/

If you are an artist, I invite you to visit our exhibition page to learn more about our upcoming 103rd Juried Annual Exhibition 2014.  We are now accepting submissions and you can enter online.

Now, enough about CAFA (for now).  Back to this blog.  Not only am I having this great experience with my role in CAFA, but I’m having an awesome time working as a gallery assistant at the Central Connecticut State University Art Galleries (CCSU Art Galleries).  I am having so much fun and learning so much about the business side of art that I want to share it with the world.

Let me tell you a little more about me.  I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Studio Art from CCSU, with a focus in ceramics.  It has been a little while since I have made new ceramic pieces, though I am lucky to have access to a wheel at home, and a kiln.  For the past five to six months I have been busy settling into my new jobs, so much so that my clay feels neglected.  But as things move along, I will be freeing up more time to dedicate myself to my art.  Assure you, I do, that you will soon be seeing my new art pieces as I create them.

Oh, and one more thing that you should expect to read about in this blog.  Not only will I write about the artists I meet at work, but as I visit galleries, studios, and attend opening receptions, I will make sure to let you know about the interesting findings I experience.

Before I forget, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment.  I welcome good and bad, but constructive, criticism.  With that bit of information I leave you to go and work on my next blog post.

 

© 2014 Paola Evangelista

5 thoughts on “About Artist/Creator/Curator

  1. Maybe someday I will have a gallery show and you can come see it in person. 🙂 I’d love for your perspective. Keep up the good work in the blog-o-sphere and I am looking forward to seeing what you post.

    Like

  2. I like the looks on the ctacademy site. Karin Hillmer has some interesting works there that I quite enjoy. Surrealism has always fascinated me. The rough and dark style of Matina Marki Tillman is also good and Christopher Z.Y. Zhang’s paintings of Ballet dancers makes me think of Edgar Degas, not because their style is similar, but merely because of the subject.

    I used to paint, but I haven’t touched a brush for many years now. I guess I’ve kind of substituted painting with photography. If you’re interested you can see some of my paintings in the blog and of course, my blog is also full of photos.
    http://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cardinal, for visiting my blog and visiting the CTacademy.org site. You have some really beautiful shots yourself and I would love to see more of your paintings too.

      I hope that you enter either one (or both) of our exhibitions. We are accepting submissions right now for the photography exhibition. We also have our 104th annual exhibition coming up next June, submissions for that should start in the early spring.

      Come by again…

      Like

Leave a Reply

