Ceramic Artist Halima Cassell

Did you see that video? Those sculptures? What did you think?

I am completely and utterly inspired by this woman and her beautiful patterned sculptures. Not only is her work exceptional, but her conceptual methodology is also stimulating and thought-provoking. This video made me dig out my pen and sketchbook to start doodling. I make some quick free hand sketching of shapes and lines that start developing forms that may look appealing, and sometimes reworking those forms until I’m happy with a few final compositions to try out with clay in the near future.

20140219-134934.jpg
Halima Cassell

In comparison to her deep and spatially well thought out carved designs, my designs have mostly been superficial carvings on wheel thrown forms such as this one:

carving1
2012

However I have had pieces with much deeper carvings like this one:

carving2
2012

This is a direction I took in my third semester of ceramics.  Texture has always played a big role in my creations, and this carving came from the desire to make clay look like ruffled fabric.  I may not have accomplished the fabric similarity but I found a satisfying technique which I could develop further.  There have been pieces that follow this style of carving, but I know that it can evolve into an even more sculptural format.

I hope you enjoyed the video and my thought process of work.  It is time for me to go back to sketching or hand-building, while doing some laundry (did I mention my  work studio is in my basement right next to the washer and dryer?).

Leave a Reply

