On Passion

The other day somebody asked me “why are you so passionate about everything?” I didn’t know how to respond. Partially because I didn’t know I came across so intense and passionate as he so told me.

Thinking back, I suppose I can sometimes be a bit over-spirited and emotional about some topics, not everything. Of course I am passionate about art. Other things I’m passionate about? Music, politics, healthy clean (green) living, and of course my friends and family. This is what comprises my world and I have yet to integrate all of that in to my work. It’s also the toughest part which only comes with lots of practice and experience.  Sometimes, as I have experienced it, your passions come to be your inspiration.

It is an inevitability that an artist’s reality and perspective come to play a major role in his artwork. Having an artist show his personality and the conflicts of his mind within his artwork, and showing how that individual relates to the world is what makes a composition meaningful. This is, I believe, why art is so important and part of the human condition, it’s an expression of our own individual reality which becomes part of the whole human experience.

I suppose I am at an age at which I am becoming aware of so much and I am still deciding what is really important in life, and that has been a hard road to travel.

Of course I cherish my friends and family, each and everyone of them has made my life much more fun and interesting, and I could not have made it to where I am today without their support, their time and advice, or their love. But when it comes to living a fulfilling life, each person has a different goal, and my romantic side shows when I say ‘I want to change the world.’ Yes, that may sound a bit idealistic, but by thinking big I can hope to achieve some sort of change for the better. It’s like that quote that gets thrown around a lot by the motivational speaker Les Brown, “aim for the moon, even if you miss you’ll land amongst the stars.”  I believe that change is good, for example, one must change to achieve progress and keep moving forward.

As an artist I am still in a period of discovery, with my ceramic art I am exploring the sculptural and non-objective forms in which my ideas and perspective may find a home. When it comes to my photography, I shoot much more instinctively, and my subject varies from nature to instances, and even inspirational textures/materials/colors.  I am an artist still in the beginnings of exploration as I have concentrated mostly on technique and aesthetics.

What is your passion?  What drives you to keep going?  Do you have crazy/hopeful goals like mine?  I would be interested to hear from other creative people out there on what inspires them most in life?

By the way, I have been keeping up with sketching more often, something that comes hard to do because I am 2 dimensionally challenged.   But I keep at it.  I know that practice will pay off.  Since I joined the group CT Sketchers I have made it a point to sketch often, though I need to look at some other sketchers’ techniques.  I am a very visual learner, I know that I can pick up a few tricks if I find some tutorial type videos.  Check out my latest sketches (from the past 2 weeks) below.

#urbansketchers #CTsketchers
Walking Buddy
#urbansketchers #CTsketchers
Rt. 66, Connecticut

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jazz Figures
Jazz Figures
#urbansketchers #CTsketchers
Jazz in Hartford
3 thoughts on “On Passion

Leave a Reply

